Melodic Monday | Releases Of The Day

Posted by

1  Death on the Balcony release ‘Close Beside Me’ on Sudbeat Music… Out Now @BEATPORT

2  Sassa release ‘Fade to Grey’ on Lost on You… Out Now @BEATPORT

3  Deeparture release ‘Big Magic’ on BeatFreak Recordings… Out Now @BEATPORT

4  Andrewboy release ‘Filtered’ on Area Verde… Out Now @BEATPORT

5  The Advocate release ‘In Space’ on Skybar Records… Out Now @BEATPORT

6  Michael & Levan & Stiven Rivic release ‘Open Up’ on Forensic Records… Out Now @BEATPORT

7  MUUI release ‘A Tool to Deal with Everything’ on Here Now.… Out Now @BEATPORT

8  AQUO Release ‘Stranger Things’ on ICONYC Noir… Out Now @BEATPORT

9  Oblivium Release ‘Crystalline / Yugen’ on IbogaTech…Out Now @BEATPORT

10  TINYgiant Release ‘Far from My Homeland’ on Lincor… Out Now @BEATPORT

To start off the week we have some the greatest melodic tracks from the past week…

Death On The Balcony makes their debut for Sudbeat with double A-side, ‘Close Beside Me’ and ‘Every Moment’. 

Death On the Balcony have been making waves since their inception in 2008. Now signed to a swathe of high performing labels including Anjunadeep, Nite Grooves and All Day I Dream, their wide spectrum influences have been distilled into a soulful, melodic and personal sound that is well regarded by all. 

Opening with groovy disco vibes, ‘Close Beside Me’ saunters to the dance floor with the self assurance of a 20something lottery winner. Warm pads and wide sonics lift the energy and mood equally before high strings take the lead. The break is uplifting and high-spirited before the low end grunt of that disco bassline from heaven takes us ever forward. ‘Every Moment’ opens with airy pads and warm, ethereal feels before the bassline enters to soothe even the most savage of beasts. Orchestral swells and vocal ad libs complete the sunrise groove.

We are delighted to welcome Sassa to Lost on You, with his new ” Fade To Grey EP”. Sassa needs no introduction as her sound is universally known. 

On his debut, Sassa introduces himself with an excellent piece that gives the album its title, “Fade To Grey”, an impressive rework of the original Visage – Fade To Grey where the melodic techno elements are well present. The track uses a deep groove as its foundation, underpinned by deep bass and smooth synth chords where the vocals and Visage’s signature lyrics unified by a deep kick drum and dark atmospheric emotion gradually work their way to the top. The composition climaxes by adding recurring percussive elements and soft drenched melodies that come together to create a structured sphere of sonic satisfaction. Clever synth phrases complete the picture to create an artfully crafted work of art.

The melodic soundscapes of the second track ‘What It Was’ round off this spectacular release. Sassa’s influences are immediately evident, as subtle free-form concepts drift through the percussive-inspired instrumentations. Undulating melodies travel along with a deep kick that anchors an aural set-up to create a special moment of sonic infusion, complemented by an impressive groove that will leave a mark on your aural perception. Impressively textured pads that warm the soul and a strong melodically infused bassline provide the foundation for this inspired piece to unfold in delayed glory. To add even more virtuosity to “What it Was” Chris Severe is on vocals making this track an essential dancefloor track.

To finish this masterpiece, Sassa delivers “Astra” a collaboration with singer MATRU. The duo delivers a melodic, break-infused mix for the ages. Their Astra is driven by pulsating bass and tight drums as the two combine to speak. Like something from yesteryear, but with a totally fresh sound, this massive romp confined with a line of synths that dominate the whole time and elevate the amounts of energy increasing the momentum with lucid and stripped back elements, before the energetic groove creates a blanket of warmth that will put a smile on your face.

With Sassa’s debut Lost on You, he takes his talents a step further to round off this brilliant, crowd-pleasing 3-track underground track. The EP is sure to find its way onto the playlists of the big guys’ brigade. Another essential release from Lost on You from the heart, for the dance-loving soul.

Straight out to our Progressive side this time with the Netherlands based artist Deeparture. Enjoy these 2 amazing original productions full of melodies and good vibes.

Following up from their last FR release which gained wide acclaim from all the heavy hitters we are very happy here to welcome back Michael & Levan, Stiven Rivic to Forensic Records with a great new vocal led masterpiece.

The original is a masterclass in deep driving groove with synth lines blending perfectly with the sultry vocal melodies.

On remix duties we have Lexicon Avenue & Toledo bringing you a pumping and hypnotic rework. Hooky analogue synth lines power the track to a breakdown to die for.

To close out the month of April in style on ICONYC Noir we welcome Dmitriy Adininskov aka AQUO with his brand new ‘Stranger Things EP’ to the label. Dmitriy treats us to an aural symphony of progressive and melodic techno sounds, fitting for any occasion and a wonderful way to say thank you for all the love and support we received all year.  

The EP kicks off with the title track ‘Stranger Things’; a grooving deep progressive influenced house roller fusing chord stabs with manipulated string ensembles and clinical breaks influenced percussion that culminate into a club inspired piece of house music. Dmitriy’s trademark beat maneuvering is prevailing, as all manner of elements drift in and out of earshot. Perfect for progressive loving club crowd and to get you in the mood for a big night out. 

Next up we have ‘Apollo’, another fantastic deep melodic techno influenced track, interspersing with roomy filling beats and filtered chords. AQUO manages to keep the energy up, allowing the driving house vibe to shine thru over the many layers and textures to create a driving soundscape, which exquisitely leads into the drop to round off this brilliant underground crowd pleaser. Need we say more?

AQUO has developed a unique style which endeared him to us; having establishing his credentials as master of the craft, he showcases his talents by taking them a step further, displaying that there’re no boundaries. This amazing melodic gem guides you to a deep club sound laden, melodic hug of a release that will leave you with many smiles induced moments! Not to be missed. Another essential ICONYC Noir release made from the heart, for the dance loving soul.

Oblivium returns with a decadent, multi-layered 2 track EP. Crystalline and Yugen build gracefully and move with a pulse that invites us to revel in the softly textured and deeply moving feels of the Oblivium’s sound.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s