Melodic Monday | Releases Of The Day

Posted by

1   Remy Unger release ‘Longlist’ on Sudbeat Music… Out Now @BEATPORT

2   MUUI release ‘No Man Is an Island’ on Here Now.… Out Now @BEATPORT

3   HABL release ‘Tezcatlipoca’ on Area Verde… Out Now @BEATPORT

4   Q.U.A.K.E & MVMBantic release ‘Dreamscape’ on IbogaTech… Out Now @BEATPORT

5   Stereolynk release ‘Alma’ on ICONYC Noir… Out Now @BEATPORT

6   Kuzzey release ‘Afterlife’ on Terranova… Out Now @BEATPORT

7   Mon cher Guy & The Real Carter Release ‘Insomnia’ on Dynamica… Out Now @BEATPORT

8   Guen B release ‘Exitium’ on Blanc Stone Digital… Out Now @BEATPORT

9   Oguzhan Gemma release ‘Feeling’ on Underground Roof Records… Out Now @BEATPORT

10   Mikey Martin release ‘Blackout’ on MODDE RECORDS… Out Now @BEATPORT

To start off the week we have some the greatest melodic tracks from the past week…

Legendary Dutch producer Remy Unger returns to the label for his first solo EP – Longlist. 

A pioneer of the tougher European sound since stepping onto the dancefloor of the Roxy in Amsterdam way back in 1989, Remy Unger has been one of the unsung heroes of Dutch electronic music. Signed to every major label worth a damn, his collaborations with Sven van Hees and Roland Klinkenberg in the ’90s soundtracked our own epiphanies, and hits such as ‘Backstabber’, Serious Damage’ and ‘Mano’ showcase his unique take and incredible creative energy. 

That energy, even 30+ years later hasn’t waned such that opening the release with the title track ‘Longlist’, flaunting a deeper vibe that captivates from the first note. As simple as it is hypnotic, Unger’s passion is clear to see. 

Next up is ‘Damage Done’ and this has all the impact and fire that his greatest hits all share in common. Rumbling sonics and stabs lead the way as insistent hats and percussive tones give drive and direction changing throughout; telling a story without the need of words. 

Rounding off the release ‘Reset The Past’ is a thoroughly modern track with old school charm. Warm analogue bass acts as a thick rug besides the roaring fireplace of polyrhythmic stabs that fill your ears with hope.

A reality unfolding upon itself, a reality we are consistently creating and affecting everyone around us with. Generate debate in your thoughts. No Man Is An Island! On what is MUUI’s seventh album on his Here Now imprint, following on in the same vein as his 2020 long format album ‘Your Revised Reality’ – spanning more than forty tracks, MUUI shares a reflective stream of conciseness embodying the emotive moods of the deeply human experience of becoming, growing, dissolving, transforming and the encapsulating awareness of our interconnection. Born from his Inherent experimenting and engaging with analogue machines – the album is derived from live hardware recordings from over the past year – documenting an echo chamber of experiences – carving out a captivating work of art, joining the dots of inspiration between light and dark from emotive atmospheric immersion to soul searching abstraction and club-focused tracks – all crafted with his unique approach to electronic music.

January the 28th meet Russian based producer HABL to deliver his new release ‘Tezcatlipoca’ on Area Verde.
‘I love local cultures, mythology, and everything related to mystery. Tezcatlipoca was one of the most powerful deities of pre-Columbian Mexico in the mythology of late Maya and Aztecs. Tezcatlipoca consists of a wide range of things including the night sky, night winds, the earth, enmity, discord, wizardry, beauty, war. I did my best to put these ideas into music using ethnical percussions, mixing strong beats after crossfades with powerful, epic bass synthesizers to recreate the effect of the advent of Tezcatlipoca. The synthesizer part along with the progressive bass line passing through the whole track helps to set the tone and mood. Also on the background, you can hear a recording of the indigenous tribes of South America, which creates an additional atmosphere for the track.’

To kickstart proceedings in 2022 on ICONYC Noir we welcome back our favorite Slovenian duo ‘Stereolynk’ to the label. The guys treat us to a massive indie anthem called ‘Alma’ that kicks things off nicely with its forlorn moodiness shining through, as we stroll effortlessly through club inspired melodies, while the sweltering piano theme sit wonderfully on top adding an extra layer of depth. The track continues to build on an unyielding foundation of deep percussive grooves and bass-lines. ‘Alma’ is a skillful piece of music that highlights the Stereolynk’s palpable talents.

The first remix comes courtesy of label Andrés Moris known for his polished and sophisticated sound profiling. He kept the ethereal theme of the original alive, as the pulsating bass powers along, before its drum fills and general warmth all combine to do the talking. Like something from yesteryear, yet sounding fresh and upfront. This transcendent touch up takes the energy levels up a notch, increases the élan with stripped back and lucid elements, before the luscious pads change the vibe and create a blanket of balminess that wraps around the accomplished groove. ‘Essential stuff’

Next up we welcome back label all-star Ivan Berkowitz who is famed for his stylish and refined productions, created a rework full of tension from the word go. The introduced atmospheric vibe intelligently keeps you moving with warm dynamic sounds, a smooth driving edge and fine percussive fragments. We basically have the formula for a bit of a monumental outing. It’s all about the energetic groove and cool club vibes that are working their magic around Ivan’s wonderfully arranged interpretation that creates an irresistible sequence while taking the mind on a trip.

Stereolynk’s ‘Alma’ is a true dance-floor mammoth, in every sense of the word. Another essential release from ICONYC Noir to start the year in style! ‘Alma’ will see a worldwide release on January 28th, 2022 Miss this at your peril!!

Marking the start of what is set to be another fantastic year for Spanish label Terranova Records is a transcending two tracker from label regular, Kuzzey. The Turkish producer is quickly building a name for himself for his discerning productions and his “Afterlife” EP is another distinctive showcase of what he can do. 

The EP starts with a progressive and melodic techno outing “Afterlife (Hidden Symphony Remix), beginning with stripped back drums and a promiscuous female vocal, leading you towards a path of mystery and curiosity. The track develops with sinister synths and pads which maneuver their way around the chugging body of the track. Urging your thoughts to spiral out of control. 

Lighter on its feet is the other track “On My Mind” the carefully crafted arrangement brushes elegantly by, reminiscent of the early morning dance floor endeavours you have experienced, the subtle tones conversing to paint a much bigger picture. An intelligent production from a thriving producer who seems to take every release within his stride. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s